Atlantic Water Network has a small but mighty team of avid water monitors. We draw upon the work of past students, employees and volunteers who have brought the Network to where it is today. Read the bios below of our current team who works to provide resources and equipment to our Community Partners throughout Atlantic Canada.

Emma Wattie


Emma Wattie has worked intimately with the numerous stewardship organizations who utilize AWN’s resources and training for the last five years. Emma has over seven years of data collection and management experience and has collaborated closely with organizations in the effort to build Atlantic Canada’s water monitoring capacity. Emma is a proud Maritimer and loves any excuse to get outside, especially if her dog can join! In her spare time she’s an avid reader, knitter and baker.

Laura Chandler

Program Manager

Laura joined the Atlantic Water Network team in 2019. In her role as Program Manager, she works closely with communities as they build and grow their water monitoring programs. Passionate about effective science communication, Laura is thrilled to see water data come to life and inspire local environmental change. Laura holds a BMath and MMath in Applied Math through the Collaborative Water Program at the University of Waterloo. Born and raised in the prairies, Laura is enjoying every chance she gets to explore the rugged coastal landscapes that Atlantic Canada has to offer.

Amanda Doucette

Communications Specialist

Amanda graduated from the Holland College Journalism program in 2018 and has spent her time since graduation working in print media, radio broadcasting and digital media content creation. She joined the Atlantic Water Network team in 2021 and is excited to help creatively share the important work conducted in communities throughout Atlantic Canada, with our partners and team. In her free time Amanda enjoys hiking the beautiful shorelines of PEI while snapping photos wherever she can. She’s a proud cat-mom and an avid coffee drinker, with a passion for local storytelling.

Steering Committee:

Sarah Weston, Chair

Senior Associate, ESG Partners Inc.

Levi Cliche

Executive Director, Clean Annapolis River Project.

Ben Whalen

Manager, Kennebecasis Watershed Restoration Committee.

Donald Killorn

Executive Director, P.E.I. Federation of Agriculture.

Matt Atkinson

Vice President, Pace Group.

Former Staff

Aislin Livingstone

Zaina Lamontagne

Becca Seward

Eleanor Friddell

Noah D’Ascanio

Sade Stacey

Patrick Leclair

Jessie Smith

Alex Webb

Science Advisory Committee:

Emma Garden

Physical Science Specialist, Indigenous Science Division, ECCC.

Allen Beck

Restoration Specialist, Clean Foundation.

Nikki Kroetsch

PSEC Community Engagement Coordinator, Nearshore Ecosystems, Ecosystems Science, DFO.

Lauren Timlick


Jérôme Marty

Executive Director, International Association for Great Lakes Research.

Natalie Deseta

Water Coordinator, New Brunswick Government Environmental Science Section.

Lisa Peters


Sam Ouelette


Cameron Deacoff

Surface Water Specialist, Nova Scotia Environment & Climate Change.

Linda Campbell

Professor, Saint Mary’s University.

Work with Atlantic Water Network

Director Job Posting

Job Description

The Director is an exciting role,and is responsible for leading and managing Atlantic Water Network in accordance with the vision and strategic direction set by the Steering Committee.

This position requires a keen, innovative, and visionary individual to ensure that programming meets the needs of the Network’s community partners, while also directing programming to expand across the region. Reporting to the Steering Committee, the Director is responsible for implementing strategic priorities as well as developing and carrying out plans to achieve them, including applying for and reporting on funding. The incoming Director will work closely with the outgoing Director in a transition of responsibilities and relationships in 2023. 

Read the full job posting and apply here.